2018 International Engine of the Year Awards Announced

The International Engine of the Year is an annual competition for automobile Industry , judged by a panel of automobile journalists from around the world. It is organised by UKi Media & Events’ Automotive Magazines.The competition was started in 1999.

The award is determined by the panellists using “subjective driving impressions and technical knowledge, and took into account characteristics such as fuel economy, noise, smoothness, performance and driveability”. 

This time IEOTY Awards was held in  in Stuttgart, Germany . Here is the detail review of winners for 2018

 International Engine of the Year – Ferrari 3.9-litre biturbo V8

Ferrari scored a hat trick at the International Engine of the Year awards 2018 . Securing  the overall trophy for the third consecutive year for its 3.9-litre V8 that powers the 488 Pista. The engine won by a competing with the Porsche’s 3-litre six-cylinder turbo . Judges feel for its performance, emotion and advanced technology.

“In the 488 GTB, the 3.9-litre eight cylinder was a near-perfect example of a high-performance turbocharged engine, setting the bar so high that it swept aside rival powertrains. But redeveloped and tweaked for the 488 Pista, the best engine in the world just got better,” said Dean Slavnich, co-chairman of the IEOTY Awards.

Apart from the overall prize, the 3.9-litre V8 won top honours in the ‘Performance Engine’ and the ‘3.0 to 4.0-litre’ categories as well.

  •  Ferrari’s 6.5-litre V12 won the ‘above 4.0-litre’ category and was given the title for the Best New Engine for 2018 


Best Electric Powertrain of the year – Tesla 

In the Electric Powertrain category, which was spcial category created for full-electric vehicles in 2017, Tesla’s all-electric powertrain was adjudged the winner. It also won the title of best ‘Green Engine’.

Best sub 1-litre Engine of the year – Volkswagen 999cc three-cylinder turbo 


Volkswagen’s 999cc three-cylinder turbo won in the ‘sub-1.0-litre’ category Beating the Ford’s popular Ecoboost, which was the winner for past six years .  This engine is used in various VW Group models such as the Polo, Skoda Karoq, Audi Q2 and the Up GTI.

1-litre to 1.4-litre Category – PSA Peugeot Citroen 1.2-litre three-cylinder turbo

In the ‘1.0-litre to 1.4-litre’ category, the PSA Peugeot Citroën 1.2-litre three-cylinder engine won for the fourth time  in a row. This engine had tough competition from Volkswagen’s 1.4-litre TFSI which powers the Tiguan .

1.4-litre to 1.8-litre Category – BMW 1.5-litre three-cylinder petrol electric hybrid 


BMW’s 1.5-litre petrol-electric hybrid from the i8 , secured fourth consecutive win in the ‘1.4 to 1.8-litre’ category.

 1.8-litre to 2.0-litre  category – Porsche 2.0-litre turbo

In the ‘1.8-litre to 2.0-litre’ category, Porsche secured  for the second time in a row with the 2.0-litre turbo that powers the 718 Boxster and 718 Cayman.

2.0-litre to 2.5-litre category – Audi 2.5-litre five-cylinder turbo

In the ‘2.0-litre to 2.5-litre’ category, Audi’s 2.5-litre five-cylinder turbo powering the RS 3 and TT RS was selected the winner. However, second placed was secured by Porsche 2.5-litre used in the 718 Boxster GTS and 718 Cayman GTS .

2.5-litre to 3.0-litre’ category – Porsche 3-litre six-cylinder turbo

Porsche’s 3-litre flat -6 turbo petrol powering  911 Carrera took the ‘2.5-litre to 3.0-litre’ category. scond place was secured by BMW’s 3-litre six-cylinder unit that is equipped in the M4 .

Love Reading about Cars and Bikes?

Get email updates on latest cars and bikes! Join us

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Author: Abdul Ahad Siddique

Staff Writer

Share This Post On